Top Price €11,000 gns.

The day’s top price was reached towards the end of the sale when Suffolk Breeder, Jimmy Douglas paid Philip Byrne from Windgap in Co. Kilkenny €11,000gns for his ram lamb sired by Cairness Achievement out of a ewe sired by Errigal Simply The Best.  Philip is a new Suffolk Breeder having established his small but select flock as recently as 2015. The ram lamb was lined up as 2nd Prize Winner in the Novice Class and 4th in the Open Ram Lamb Class.


Beneath an autumn sky in Roscrea Mart, Judge Allister Gault from the “Forkins Flock” tapped out Susan O’Keeffe’s ram lamb as his choice of Supreme Champion and Male Champion as well as 1st prize winner in the Open Ram Class. The late December born ram lamb sired by Cairness Costello out of a ewe sired by Rookery Classic proved that he held a power packed pedigree and sold for €1,450gns to Thomas Egan from Roscommon.

Reserve Champion

He then lined up a December born ram lamb of Gerry Killilea’s from the Carragh Flock as his Reserve Supreme Champion choice, this lamb was also the 2nd Prize winner in the Open Ram Lamb class and Reserve Male Champion.  Sired by Lakeview Harbinger out of a Ewe by Strathisla Dylan Thomas; he was purchased by Shaun & Seamus Gahan of the Barrowlands flock for €2,800gns. Gerry bred the Female Champion and 1st prize winner in the Ewe lamb Class as well; this ewe lamb was sired by Carragh Black Diamond out of ewe by Errigal Simply the Best and sold to Eric Campbell of the Master Flock from Tuam Co. Galway for €950gns.

Reserve Female Champion

Philip Lynch’s mid-January born Ewe Lamb was the judge’s choice as Reserve Female Champion and Second Prize winner in the Ewe lamb Class; sired by Burnview Gin & Tonic out of a homebred ewe sired by Glyde Cracker.  She sold for €500gns to fellow breeder Aidan Loftus from Crossmolina who also took home Matt Pease’s 2nd prize winning Shearling Ewe for €750gns.

Class 1st Prize Winners

Michael & James O’Connell of the Knockogan Flock won first prize in the Shearling Ewe Class.

Wm J & R Wilson sold his first prize winning Ram lamb sired by a South of Ireland Bred Ram to Robert Sands of Portlaoise for €1,350gns.

Arthur O’Keeffe’s first prize winning Recorded Class Ram sold to Patrick McAndrew from Belmullet for €1,200gns.

Lexi & Alan Kilpatrick from Donegal captured 1st Prize in Novice Ram Lamb Class and sold him for €2000gns to Campbell Watson from Ballymena.

Winner of Open Ram Lamb Class was the aforementioned Supreme Champion from Susan O’Keeffe.

Group of Three Ram Lamb Class also went to Donegal to Jonathan Lucas; these three fine sheep were sold for an average of €900gns.

Average price €940.00.

Clearance 57%

High Prices

Philip Byrne €11,000 gns

Gerry Killilea €2,800gns

Lexi & Alan Kilpatrick €2,000gns & €1,000gns

Andrew Wilson €1,500gns €1,200gns

Susan O’Keeffe €1,450 gns

Arthur O Keeffe €1,200gns

Oliver Deane €1,200gns & €1,100gns twice

John A. Doherty €1,100gns & €1,000gns

Richard Thompson €1,070gns

Eamon Duffy €1,050gns

Thomas Cavanagh €1,000gns


Supreme Champion of the Show:-Susan O’Keeffe.

Reserve Champion of the Show: – Gerry Killilea.

Male Champion: – Susan O’Keeffe.

Reserve Male Champion: – Gerry Killilea.

Female Champion: – Gerry Killilea

Reserve Female Champion: – Philip Lynch

Shearling Ewe Class

1st Michael &James O’Connell

2nd Matt Pearse

3rd Robert Walker

4th Robert Walker

5th Philip Lynch

6th Michael & James O’Connell

7th Marie C Ennett

8th Brian Boland

Ewe lamb Class

1st Gerry Killilea

2nd Philip Lynch

3rd Michael & James O’Connell

4th Colin Watchorn

5th Jeffery & Robert Thornton

6th Marie C Ennett

7th Hillary & Garry Ennett

8th Marie C. Ennett

Ram lamb sired by Irish bred ram

1st Wm & R Wilson

2nd Arthur O’Keeffe

3rd Patrick O’Keeffe

4th John A Doherty

5th Seamus Browne

6th Susan O’Keeffe

7th John Durcan

8th Philip Byrne

Recorded Class

1st Arthur O’Keeffe

2nd Susan O’Keeffe

3rd Philip Lynch

4th Susan O’Keeffe

5th John A Doherty

6th Andrew Wilson

7th Wm J & R Wilson

8th Eamonn Duffy

Novice Ram lamb

1st Lexi & Alan Kilpatrick

2nd Philip Byrne

3rd Brain Boland

4th Colin Watchorn

5th Doherty Bros

6th Garth Graham

7th Robert Walker

8th Richard Thompson

Open Ram Lamb Class

1st Susan O’Keeffe

2nd Gerry Killilea

3rd Lexi & Alan Kilpatrick

4th Philip Byrne

5th Susan O’Keeffe

6th Tommy Cavanagh

7th Andrew Wilson

8th O & G Deane

Group of Three Ram Lambs

1st AJ & JA Lucas

2nd Susan O’Keeffe

3rd Philip Lynch

4th Wm J & R Wilson

5th O & G Deane

6th Andrew Wilson